"A total of seven domains featuring hardcore pornography have been targeted by Apple in a new complaint filed with the World Intellectual Property Organization. As noted by Domain Name Wire, all of the sites feature the word iPhone, but perhaps the most troubling is the iphone4s.com website, which features the same name as Apple's latest handset."
"The owners of the respective sites are unknown, as the domain names are protected by a privacy service shielding their "Whois" information. The Whois protocol stores the contact information for domain names on the Internet."
Meanwhile ICE is closing in on a well known figure in domain circles with a huge portfolio but also a provider of developed websites to other domainers. ICE believes these products distribute malware that adds the domainers personal computer to a Botnet that generates clicks on ads that look legitimate from a real ip. In one sting operation, investigators ran a report of all the clicks that were supposedly made by the person behind the desk at the IP. 2000 clicks were supposedly made on a day when the owner was out of town.
Moreover and where I became part of the investigation is a theory that this individual engages in character assignation under a variety of personas, writing sensational headlines that rank high in the victims search results and stand out to compel a click. Once the surfer is tricked into clicking on the page, malware is installed in their computer that makes them aparty to click fraud. Potentially 10s of thousands of sites may be seized, many where the owners had no knowledge of the scam or idea that their assets were being used in this way.
Interesting times for sure!

1 comments:
[Meanwhile ICE is closing in on a well known figure in domain circles..]
any idea who?
Post a Comment